Steering Group

The Steering Group is a body of senior leaders, principally drawn from members and sector experts, which meets informally as required, to provide the Board of Trustees and Executive team with the external, employer perspective. Steering Group members also play an important ambassadorial role for The 5% Club across industry sectors, with the media and in recruiting new members.

Leo Quinn (Steering Group Chairman)
Group Chief Executive
Balfour Beatty PLC

Rear Admiral Simon Charlier 
Senior Defence & Political Adviser UK

Andrew Churchill OBE
Executive Chairman
JJ Churchill Ltd

Allan Cook CBE
Chairman – High Value Manufacturing Catapult

Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, chair of the Academy’s Diversity Leadership Group

Mathieu du Plooy
Chief Operating Officer

Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP
Minister of State (Minister for Skills, Apprenticeships and Higher Education)

Nichola Hay MBE
Director of Apprenticeship Strategy and Policy, BPP 

Clive Higgins
Chair and CEO

Paul Livingston
Chief Executive Officer
Lockheed Martin UK

Sian Vernon 
People Officer, UK Defence